Members Elected to INCOMPAS Board of Directors

During the annual membership meeting at the 2018 INCOMPAS Show, members of INCOMPAS elected companies to serve on the board of directors for the 2018-2020 term. These newly elected members join the others who are currently serving their 2017-2019 terms.

Earlier this week, at its first meeting with the newly elected directors, the board elected Kurt Van Wagenen, president and CEO of FirstLight Fiber to serve as its board chair. He will replace Deborah Ward, CEO of Televergence, who has served as board chair for five terms. The board also selected Michael B. Galvin, general counsel of Granite Telecommunications as vice chair; and Dale R. Schmick, COO of TerraCom, as treasurer.

Rounding out the executive committee are four at-large members:

  • Paula Boyd, director of government and regulatory affairs at Microsoft
  • Grey Humphrey, chief revenue officer of Spirit Communications-Lumos Networks
  • Charles McKee, vice president of government affairs federal and state regulatory for Sprint
  • Deborah Ward, CEO of Televergence

“I am honored that my peers selected me to serve as Board Chair of INCOMPAS, and I appreciate the trust they put in me to continue building on the strong momentum under the leadership of my predecessor Deb Ward,” Van Wagenen said. “As we enter 2019, I look forward to collaborating with my colleagues on the Board and the highly capable INCOMPAS staff to carry on the excellent advocacy the association does on behalf of our industry, and to further enhance the business opportunities and benefits available to our robust and growing membership.”

Companies joining the Board for the 2018-2020 term include:

Small Company

  • Comspan Communications Inc. – Mark Scully, president
  • Fatbeam – Greg Green, co-founder and president
  • Gorge Networks – Dan Bubb, president and CEO
  • IdeaTek Telecom – Daniel Friesen, managing member and innovation officer
  • Mammoth Networks – Brian Worthen, CEO
  • Socket Telecom – Carson Coffman, president
  • Telestax – Ivelin Ivanov, co-founder and CEO

Medium Company

  • Crown Castle* – Chris Levendos, vice president, network engineering and operations
  • FirstLight Fiber – Kurt Van Wagenen, president and CEO
  • Inteliquent – Jon Clopton, vice president of network cost, planning and carrier relations
  • LOGIX Fiber Networks* – Patrick Lentz, CFO
  • TeleQuality Communications – Tim Koxlien, CEO

Large Company

  • Granite Telecommunications – Michael B. Galvin, general counsel
  • GTT – Chris McKee, general counsel and executive vice president, corporate development
  • Sprint – Charles McKee, vice president, government affairs federal and state regulatory
  • Windstream – Thomas Whitehead, vice president, federal government affairs

* appointed by INCOMPAS to board of directors.